DA PAM 600-25 U.S. Army Noncommissioned Officer Professional Development Guide


1) What are the three crucial leader development components or the three leader development lines of effort?

A: Training, education, and experience

2) What is leader development?

A: Leader development is the deliberate, continuous, and progressive process-founded in Army Values-that grows Soldiers and Army civilians into competent, committed, professional leaders of character. Leader development is achieved through the career-long synthesis of training, education, and experiences acquired through institutional, operational, and self-development domains, supported by peer and developmental relationships.

3) Explain the ends, ways, means concept of leader development.

A: Ends -A process that aligns training, education, and experience to prepare leaders who exercise mission command in order to prevail in unified land OPS.

Ways – Central to this strategy is that leaders at all levels understand their responsibility for continually developing other leaders.

Means – Means includes will, time, people, and funding. (Will and time are the two most important).

4) What are the definitions of the institutional, operational, and self development domains?

A: Institutional -This includes the Army Staff and supporting organizations, and Army centers and schools that provide initial training and subsequent functional training and professional education for Soldiers and civilians. The institutional domain includes advanced civil schooling, training with industry (TWI), and fellowships to supplement leader education.

Operational – Encompasses all training and education in deployable units. After-action reviews, coaching, counseling, sharing, and mentoring are important parts of developing leaders.

Self-Development – Includes planned and goal-oriented learning that reinforces and expands the depth and breadth of an individual’s knowledge base and self-awareness. Self-development bridges learning gaps between the operational and institutional domains and sets conditions for continuous learning and growth. There are three variations: structured self-development (SSD), which are mandatory learning modules to meet specific learning objectives and requirements; guided self-development (GSD), which is recommended, but optional learning which may include credentialing and accreditation is intended to enhance professional competence; personal self-development, which is self-initiated learning to meet personal training, education, and experiential goals.


5) What are the three variations of self-development?

A: structured self-development, guided self-development, optional learning


6) What are the four core roles of the NCO?

A: 1) Leads by example. 2) Trains from experience. 3) Enforces and maintains standards. 4) Takes care of Soldiers, their Families, and equipment.


7) What are the six vital learning areas for NCOs?

A: The Army profession, Professional Competence, Team building, Fitness and resiliency, Learning, Adaptibility


8) What is the difference between ALC and BLC/WLC?

A: The WLC is a non-MOS specific, field-oriented leadership course built around warrior leader tasks. The WLC trains eligible Soldiers. The training focuses on values, attributes, skills, and actions needed for team and squad leadership responsibilities at the rank of SGT.

ALC consists of technical training. Technical training is “hands-on,” performance-oriented, and specific to the MOS.

9) What is the ACT?

A: The Army Career Tracker. Single point-of-entry for career and leadership

development that provides an integrated approach to supporting military and civilian personnel’s personal and PD which capitalizes on the mutual (personnel and Army) need for lifelong learning. ACT allows users to manage career objectives and monitor progress towards career requirements and goals. ACT will provide the capability to organize, collect, collate, plan or schedule, and arrange individual developmental opportunities into a plan that enables Soldiers to satisfy individual goals and objectives over time. ACT assists users with their career development and planning through all phases of the Soldier life cycle (SLC).

10) What is the EPMS?

A: The Enlisted Personnel Management System. An evolutionary system that balances the needs of the Army with the developmental requirements of the enlisted force.

11) What are the three subsystems that compose that EPMS?

A: Strength management, Career development, and evaluations

12) What are the eight-steps in the EPMS personnel life-cycle function?

A: personnel structure, acquisition, distribution, development, deployment, compensation, sustainment, and transition

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close